The Lord Is My Shepherd

When it seems like I have nowhere to turn
The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not want

When there seems to be no resting place about me
He makes me to lie down in green pastures

When the waters in life rage about me and I cannot see
He leads me beside the still waters.

When the depression pulls me down to the depths of despair
He restores my soul.

When I follow my heart instead of His will
He leads me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake

When hard times come and life overwhelms me
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death

When the panic overtakes me and I think of what might happen
I will fear no evil

When I feel all alone though I’m surrounded by people
The Lord is with me

When alleviation from every side fails
His rod and His staff, they comfort me

When I’ve been betrayed and downtrodden
He prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies

When peace eludes me and things overwhelm me
He anoints my head with oil, my cup runs over

When it seems like there is no benevolence or integrity in life
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life

When I have no place on this earth to lay my head
I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Violet
7-15-2016

Leave a Reply

