I Thought

I thought I knew what love was
When we first met
many, many years ago
but I regret
to tell you what is so
I didn’t know.

I thought I knew what love was
When we began courting.
It was an exciting time
while we were comporting
together in our prime
Each occasion…sublime.

I thought I knew what love was
When our vows were complete.
We looked each other in the eyes
knowing they were concrete
with no disguise
our marriage…the prize.

I thought I knew what love was
When our first came along.
We were so excited
ready to stand strong
and raise him…delighted
but trying to be longsighted.

I thought I knew what love was
When our children grew.
To teach them all about the Lord
how they should make it through
the future now unexplored
and eternity’s reward.

I thought I knew what love was
When some of our children left
the nest to take flight
even feeling bereft.
God gave to me, despite
all, my husband who’s my delight.

I thought I knew but didn’t
I learned what true love was
from a man who sought to be
the likeness of Christ because
he knows this is best for him and me
for he desires to be godly.

I thought I knew but didn’t
Watching my husband, gave me
an understanding of true love
which isn’t gotten from worldly
impact but from above.
May you always be
that witness of true love!

I love you, Sweetheart!

Violet
12-17-2015

SAM_0691

Leave a Reply

