Broken Promises

I looked to the world to give me pleasure
Instead, I saw that it was a lifeless treasure
It made me think of rottenness to the core
And to have it, I paid a price o’er and o’er

I looked to friends to make my heart glad
Instead, they made me feel pretty sad
I thought of control and manipulation
There always seemed to be a stipulation

I looked to myself as giving me self esteem
Instead, I began to lie to others and to scheme
I felt that everyone should obey only me
I couldn’t stand any one else to disagree.

The only One Who can hit the spot in our heart
He is the One Who created each human apart
He knows what is needed to satisfy our soul
He is the only One Who can truly make us whole.

Violet
10-17-2015

2015-09-22 12.59.06

Leave a Reply

